Day 46

I guess according to the asian lunar calendar, tonight was the night to move from the fall to winter season. So all the aunts, uncles, cousins came over to make “tong yuan”–they’re kinda like salty mochi, but cooked in a big pot of everything. It was pretty cool because my aunt actually had me knead the dough and such–something I’ve only watched my grandma and aunts do since I was a kid.

hahaha..that reminds me of all the Food Network chefs who talk about how their passion for cooking sparked in the kitchen while preparing food for family gatherings…the tong yuan did taste really good today….HAHAH.

anyway, here’s a collage of most of the process..

lengthy post to come tomorrow!

One response to “Day 46

  1. Pingback: “Tong Yuan”: that ooey-gooey family gathering. « the one with the camera

Leave a Reply

